My my My my
TL17 Scholarship
by posted 03/01/2018

This scholarship recognizes a WA state player who exemplifies a love of of lacrosse, works hard on his game and is a leader both on and off the field.

The scholarship was previously awarded at the Adrenaline All-American game in Southern California until 2015 when Tyler’s family moved the TL17 scholarship to Washington State to recognize and honor a local high school player. 

Previous recipients are:
2011 – Kevin Powers, Issaquah HS, Dominican University
2012 - Alex Keuilian, Foothill HS, Dominican University
2013 – Dakota Holister, Mount Baker HS, Bellarmine University
2014 – Carlo Castenenda, Westlake HS, Franklin & Marshall College
2015 – Chiem Sateurn, Franklin HS, Central Washington University
2016 – Jake Lindahl, Issaquah High School, Sacred Heart University
2017 – Levi DeYoung, Bellingham HS, Nortre Dame de Namur University

Tyler Lucas began playing Lacrosse when he was in the 4th grade for the 2003 CreaseMonkey youth team started by Steve Wisman. He joined the Issaquah Youth Lacrosse program in 2005. In 2007, he was diagnosed with Type-1 diabetes and missed his first (and last) lacrosse practice, but he never considered quitting. He played on Issaquah’s State Championship teams in 2008 and 2009.

While Tyler’s first loyalty was to his Issaquah program, he also played for Seattle Starz, West Coast Starz and, founded the Bubbles Lacrosse Chumash Team and, despite being a defenseman, played attack for the Junior Stealth Box team. He loved anything to do with Lacrosse and became Issaquah’s stick doctor. In 2011, 5 out of 6 All-Americans had a stick strung up by Tyler. In Nov 2010, he verbally committed to play for NCAA Division II lacrosse at Dominican University of California before losing his life just before the 2011 Lacrosse season in a car accident on his way to school.

The TL17 scholarship is the Lucas Family’s way of giving back to the sport that meant so much to our son and our family.

The scholarship is designed to help with first year college costs for a Freshman Lacrosse Player.

2018 Criteria & Eligibility/ Nomination Process:
o Nominees may seniors or juniors.
o Players must be in good academic standing in their school (eligible), demonstrate good sportsmanship and intend to play College Lacrosse.
o Nominations should include a biographical sketch, lacrosse resume, and contributions to the game, school, and community.
o Nominations should come from a Coach, Athletic Director, or a current teacher.

Know a deserving Lacrosse Player?
Send nomination to:

TopShare this

2017 WHSBLA - USL Award Winners
by posted 05/23/2017


NAME Grade Position Program
Conner Hoke Senior Attack Skyline
Stuart MacDonald Junior Attack Bothell
Justin Angelel Senior Midfield Bellevue
Jack Sercu Junior Midfield Eastside Catholic
Will Carson Junior LSM Skyline
Nate Holbrook Senior Defense Issaquah
Lucas Pederson Senior Defense Bainbridge
Chase Overton Junior Defense Bellevue
Tony Flor Senior Defense O'Dea
Coach of the Year
NAME Program
Sam Hutson Skyline
NAME Grade Position Program
Isaiah Pratt Senior Attack Union
Jack McCarthy Senior Attack Skyline
Conner Hoke Senior Attack Skyline
Garrett Sorenson Senior Midfield Bellingham
Justin Angelel Senior Midfield Bellevue
Jack Sercu Junior Midfield Eastside Catholic
Griffith Hawblitzel Senior LSM Bellevue
Ben Fujinaga Senior Midfield Overlake
Ben Graves Senior Midfield Richland
Bob Scott Award
NAME Grade Position Program
Hank Halfaker Senior Defense Garfield
TopShare this